2017 Texas Healthcare Trustees Award Winners

THT Founders' Award: Ambassador Lyndon Olson, Jr., Texas Scottish Rite Hospital for Children, Dallas 

Lyndon Olson’s relationship with Texas Scottish Rite Hospital for Children started at a young age, when he was a patient of the hospital. Since that time he has worked to give back to an organization that had given so much to him. Olson has been a member of the TSRHC board since 1995 and has served as chair since 2006. During that time, the impact he’s made on the hospital has been significant. Bob Walker, TSRHC president and CEO describes Olson as a “visionary and dynamic leader with a servant’s heart and is always ready and willing to support Scottish Rite Hospital in any way possible.” 

Olson was instrumental in guiding the hospital into the future as TSRHC began to shift business models to ensure hospital sustainability, along with advancing the organization through an expansion of its facility and technology improvements. In addition to his board service at TSRHC, Olson’s involvement in health care includes working with Baylor Scott & White Health, Baylor College of Medicine, MD Anderson Cancer Center, Texas Mental Health Association and Meadows Mental Health Policy Institute among others. Additionally, Olson has an extensive list of civic and public service at the local, state, national and international level. “Service is Olson’s hallmark and will one day be his legacy.”

Advocate of the Year:  Andrew Stern, Medical City Healthcare, Dallas 

Andy Stern has been an advocate for health care and his hospital for more than 20 years. He has served on the Medical City Dallas Hospital board for 23 years and is the co-founder and co-chair of the Medical City Healthcare community advisory board. Involved at the local, state and national level, Stern has used his experience as a former staff assistant to President Gerald Ford, and his expertise in public relations to lend a voice to Texas hospitals.

“As a volunteer trustee, there is no one more dedicated, innovative and engaged,” said Erol Akdamar, president of Medical City Healthcare. “Andy is tireless in his dedication and uses his extensive network to help us better serve our community.”

Stern is an asset to the health care community and is someone who truly understands the power of advocacy and strength in a unified and collective voice at the Capitol.

About the Awards

Founders' Award
Texas Healthcare Trustees Founders' Award is the highest honor bestowed to a trustee. The Founders' Award is presented to a distinguished health care trustee with an exemplary record of leadership, dedication and excellence in health care governance and their community.

Previous winners of the award have exhibited outstanding service to their hospitals. The Founders' Award was established in 1972 when it was presented to the five founders of Texas Healthcare Trustees who contributed significantly to the leadership and growth of the association. The Founders' Award remains a symbol of dedication and excellence in leadership and health care governance.

Nominate a Colleague

THT Advocate of the Year Award
THT's Advocate of the Year Award (previously Star Trustee Award) recognizes an outstanding trustee, committee, or board who exhibits leadership in the legislative and regulatory arenas for the betterment of their hospital and the patients and communities they serve. Some examples include outstanding service to the Texas Hospital Association advocacy team; public service; advocating locally for their hospital's initiatives; engagement in state and/or national health care policy discussions; and/or working with local or state health agencies or government officials to improve health care.

Originally referred to as the Star Trustee Award, this was created in 2009 to recognize and encourage engagement in advocacy on behalf of hospitals, health systems and health care-related organizations to strengthen and improve the health care community. The award was given previously by the Texas Hospital Association from 2009 to 2011 to an outstanding Texas trustee.

Nominate a Colleague

Eligibility and Process
The nominee must be a trustee from a Texas Hospital Association- and Texas Healthcare Trustees-member hospital or health system. The institution's membership status must be current.

Current members of the THT board of directors are not eligible.

An Awards Committee, appointed by the THT chairman, will review all nominations and make the selection. The committee reserves the right to award multiple awards.

All nominators will receive notification of the results.

The Founders' Award and THT Advocate of the Year Award recipients are honored at the Trustee Awards Luncheon held on Friday during the Healthcare Governance Conference. Recipients, or a representative from their respective hospital, must attend to accept the award.

     See a list of past award recipients